Edward Thomas Distinguished Service Memorial Award

Since it was established in 1992, the America East Distinguished Service Award has been awarded in order to recognize the efforts of individuals who have faithfully and generously contributed their time and talents on a volunteer basis to further the efforts of the America East Operations and Technology Conference and Trade Show.

In 2006 the award was renamed in honor of Ed Thomas, a longtime advisory committee member and friend of America East who died in 2005. For countless years, Ed was involved with America East serving as an advisory committee member, committee chairman in 1986, Print Quality Contest consultant and coordinator of innumerable sessions, speakers, volunteers and sponsorships. He touched America East – and its many participants, vendors and staff – in countless ways during his many years of participation and support.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award:

2010 No award given
2009 No award given.
2008 No award given.
2007 Ken Abbruzzese, US Ink Corporation
2006 Award renamed in honor of Ed Thomas and presented to his family
2005 Tom Northrop, Observer Publishing Co., Washington, PA
2004 John Rodney, The Press of Atlantic City, NJ
2003 Lynn Steely (retired), Philadelphia Newspapers Inc.
2002 Larry Hoffman, Dow Jones Co., Princeton, NJ
2001 No award given.
2000 Dick Wyckoff (retired), The Tribune-Democrat, Johnstown, PA
1999 Joe Lentz, NENSCO and Bob Schmidt, US Ink Corporation
1998 No award given.
1997 No award given.
1996 Dr. Robert G. Hacker, RIT's School of Printing Management and Science
1995 Ed Thomas, The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA
1994 William A. Heider, Sr., Times Publishing Co., Erie, PA
1993 Gene Rosenberger, Bucks County Courier Times, Levittown, PA. 
1992 Don Phillips, Flint Ink

Contact Us  |  3899 North Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17110  |  Phone: (717) 703-3000  |  Fax: (717) 703-3001