Newspaper of the Year Awards

The Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association (PNA) Foundation's Newspaper of the Year Contest gives PNA-member news media companies the opportunity to showcase the efforts of their entire staff. The purpose of this contest is to recognize outstanding work across all departments and including all products, with an emphasis on overall excellence. Categories now include: news excellence, advertising excellence, news presentation, editorial & commentary, best use of photography, diversity, special sections, promotions, community service and best use of video awards.

Check back soon for this year's contest details!

Entries and online payments must be submitted online via the BetterBNC website.  All entries and online payments must be received by 11:59 p.m., on Monday, August 22, 2016.

Please note: printed entry guidelines and rules will not be mailed.  Please download the contest rules, entry instructions and category descriptions below.  Or, you can request a printed copy by emailing, or phoning (717) 703-3012.

View the 2015 contest rules and categories below:

2015 NOY Contest Rules      2015 NOY categories


The newspaper with the top point total in each circulation division will receive a General Excellence Award.

View information about the G. Richard Dew Award for Journalistic ServicePNA Foundation Public Service Award and the Reader Initiative Awards contests; awards will be presented at the Newspaper of the Year Awards Brunch.

The awards will be presented at the Newspaper of the Year Awards Brunch, Nov. 4, 2016, at Omni Bedford Springs, in conjunction with the PNA Annual Convention.

The PNA Foundation supplies plaques to all winners in attendance at the awards brunch. Following the brunch, certificates will be mailed to winners not in attendance with the option to purchase plaques. If you are unable to attend the awards brunch and would like to purchase plaques for your certificates, complete the NOY Plaque Order Form and fax to (717) 703-3008, or mail to PNA Foundation, 3899 N. Front Street, Harrisburg, PA  17110.

Question? Contact the PNA Foundation at or (717) 703-3003.


Contact Us  |  3899 North Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17110  |  Phone: (717) 703-3000  |  Fax: (717) 703-3001