Keystone Press Awards - Professional

The Keystone Press Awards reinforce excellence by individuals in the news media profession, by recognizing journalism that consistently provides relevance, integrity and initiative in serving readers, and faithfully fulfills its First Amendment rights/responsibilities.  Further, the Keystone Press Awards stimulate journalists to improve their craft and ultimately improve their community.

Entries are now being accepted in the 2019 Keystone Press Awards Contest! All entries and online payments must be submitted online via the quick and easy online contest system, BetterBNC, by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2019.  Mail-in or phone-in payments are due by Friday, February 1. 

Be sure to read this Special Announcement about our 2019 contests!

Freelancers must submit entries through the PNA-member news organization in which the work was published.  The PNA-member news organization may either submit the work on the freelancer's behalf, or give "authorized entrant" access to their online account in BetterBNC directly to the freelancer.

NEW THIS YEAR! Diversity awards and revised point calculations! 


2019 Keystone Rules

2019 Keystone Categories     2019 Specialty Categories

Winners will be honored at the Keystone Press Awards Banquet during the Pennsylvania Press Conference on Saturday, May 18, 2019, at the Hilton Harrisburg. Plaques will be provided to all award recipients in attendance at the awards banquet. Certificates will be mailed to winners not in attendance, at no cost. You may purchase plaques for your certificates by downloading and completing the Plaque Order Form

Helpful tip:  Save entries throughout the year! To avoid the frantic rush during next year's contest period, we recommend that you save your potential entries in a special file on your computer, or create a MyScrapbooks page through the BetterBNC website. Then when contest time rolls around, you simply search that file for your best work!


Questions? Contact the PNA Foundation at or (717) 703-3003.




Past Keystone Winners          Past Keystone Sweepstakes Winners



  • 2018 Specialty Category Winners
    PDF, 107.09 KB
  • 2018 Sweepstakes Winners
    PDF, 6.40 KB
  • 2018 Keystone Winners - Division I
    PDF, 95.74 KB
  • 2018 Keystone Winners - Division II
    PDF, 97.60 KB
  • 2018 Keystone Winners - Division III
    PDF, 97.75 KB
  • 2018 Keystone Winners - Division IV
    PDF, 95.20 KB
  • 2018 Keystone Winners - Division V
    PDF, 91.66 KB
  • 2018 Keystone Winners - Division VI
    PDF, 96.47 KB
  • 2018 Keystone Winners - Division VII
    PDF, 100.69 KB
Contact Us  |  3899 North Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17110  |  Phone: (717) 703-3000  |  Fax: (717) 703-3001