2021 Advocate of the Year Award

2021 Advocate of the Year Award

PNA presents Advocate of the Year Award

to Sen. Pat Stefano


Pictured are, from left, Holly Lubart, Brad Simpson, Sen. Pat Stefano, Joanne Richey and Michael Scott. Photo courtesy of the Connellsville Daily Courier.

UNIONTOWN, Pa. – Sen. Pat Stefano (R-Fayette/Somerset/Westmoreland) was presented with the 2021 Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association Advocate of the Year Award  for his outstanding leadership and advocacy for the news media industry. Since his time in office, Stefano has been a shining advocate for transparency in government. This session, Stefano was the prime sponsor of Act 65 of 2021, which requires agendas in advance of public meetings. Further, once the agenda has been finalized and posted for the public, the agency may not take official action on any item that is not listed on the agenda, except in emergency situations or to consider insignificant matters.

Stefano was also the prime sponsor of legislative resolutions honoring National Newspaper Week from 2017-2021. In addition, he has introduced Senate Bill 507, which mandates the recording and online posting of legislative committee meetings and hearings. The bipartisan SB 507, which passed the Senate State Government Committee in September, also requires livestreaming of meetings when it is technically feasible. This legislation increases public transparency and provides for a more open government as it gives citizens statewide additional opportunities to see how their elected officials in the General Assembly conduct business.

Stefano has introduced numerous other transparency bills in school hiring and proposed collective bargaining agreements. He has a deep understanding of the print industry as a third-generation business owner of his family’s company, Stefano’s Printing.

PNA President Brad Simpson presented Stefano the award along with Michael Scott, publisher, Uniontown Herald Standard; Joanne Richey, general manager, Connellsville Daily Courier; and Holly Lubart, PNA vice president of government affairs.