Benjamin Franklin Award for Excellence

Benjamin Franklin Award for Excellence


October 2023


PNA Annual Dinner


Lisa Strohl




Ben Franklin Award

2023 Call for Nominations

The Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association is now accepting nominations for the 2023 Benjamin Franklin Award for Excellence.


Purpose of the Award

The Benjamin Franklin Award recognizes individuals who have performed an outstanding service to his/her newspaper, to the news media industry in general, to his/her local community, or to the Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association that reflected positively on the news media industry in Pennsylvania. (Nominees may include news media owners and employees, legislators, community leaders, business leaders, and university/college administrators.)


Award Criteria

The criteria for this award is flexible to accommodate a wide range of circumstances and situations. Some examples would include:

  • How well a candidate reacted in times of a natural disaster
  • Undertaking a legal battle for his/her newspaper
  • Lobbying efforts for a news media cause
  • Innovative methods of selling, marketing, or producing newspaper products
  • Outstanding community, college, or non-profit service

The work for which the candidate is being nominated should be current within the past one to two years.

Contact Us

Nomination Guidelines

  • Nominations must be made in writing with biographical information included, along with any appropriate supporting documents explaining the reasons the nominee should receive the award. Letters from the nominee’s peers and coworkers supporting the nomination may also be included. Please mail, e-mail, or fax nominations to:

Benjamin Franklin Award for Excellence
c/o Lisa Strohl
Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association
4000 Crums Mill Rd., Suite 101, Harrisburg, PA 17112

Nominations must be received no later than Friday, June 16, 2023.

  • No limitations are placed on the length of information submitted. However, conciseness and clarity are suggested.
  • Artistic qualities of the nomination submissions (such as the use of graphics, photographs, etc.) will not be considered in the selection of the award recipient.
  • Any staff member of a PNA news media organization may submit a nomination.
  • The Benjamin Franklin Award for Excellence Selection Committee is comprised of the PNA Executive Committee members.

Past Winners

2023 Call for Nominations 2022 Press Release

Award will be presented at the 2022 PNA Annual Dinner.

Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association Logo