Distinguished Writing Awards

Distinguished Writing Awards


Contest opens November 2019; Awards presented May 2020


Harrisburg, PA


Teresa Shaak





PNA Foundation Distinguished Writing Awards

Check back in November for contest rules!

Congratulations to the 2019 Distinguished Writing Award Winners:

  • First Place – Mike Argento, York Daily Record/Sunday News

  • Second Place – Stephen J. Nesbitt, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Since 1987, the purpose of this award is to showcase quality writing. The award is judged solely on the quality of writing, without regard to circulation or category. The rules for entering this category follow the general entry rules of the Keystone Press Awards. The following also apply:

  • The contest is open to individual writers only; no team entries. Winner will receive a personalized plaque.
  • Entries must include three pieces of work and may include various types of articles.
  • Work that has been entered in any other category (news, column, series, etc.) is acceptable.
  • Any article may be entered, including those not listed in the entry categories.
Contact Us

Entries for the 2019 awards must be submitted via the Keystone Press Awards contest by 11:59 p.m., January 31, 2019.