The Lenfest Institute Emerging Journalist Award

The Lenfest Institute Emerging Journalist Award


Contest open - deadline to enter is January 31


Harrisburg, PA


Teresa Shaak




The Lenfest Institute Emerging Journalist Award

This award (created in 2011 and formerly known as the Edith Hughes Emerging Journalist Award), encourages talented young journalists to continue in their careers. This is open to professional journalists with two years or less experience (excluding internships or fellowships). Submit three stories or story packages published in the year specified. Entries can also be submitted in other categories. Entries will be judged together for overall excellence in writing, reporting, and use of storytelling platforms. Nominating letter (unlimited words) from supervising editor required. There is no limit on the number of entries from any news organization or journalist; however, no more than one award will be given each year.

Entries now being accepted!  This contest is a category within the Keystone Media Awards Deadline to submit entries and online payments is 11:59 p.m. on Friday, January 31, 2020.  Mail-in or call-in payments must be received by 5 p.m. on Friday, February 7, 2020.

Enter Now!

Winner will receive a personalized award and a $500 cash award, sponsored by The Lenfest Institute. Award will be presented at the Keystone Media Awards Celebration on Saturday, May 30, 2020, in Harrisburg.

Questions? Email the PNA Foundation or phone (717) 703-3003.