Past “It Can Wait” Winners

"It Can Wait" Contest

Since 2015, the PNA Foundation has joined with AT&T to host statewide “It Can Wait” editorial contests.  PNA member newspapers are invited to host local contests to encourage high school students in their communities to help make roadways safer.  A winner is recognized in each participating community and entered into the statewide contest.  Since 2015, more than 840 students have participated in the contest across Pennsylvania.

Learn more about the It Can Wait editorial contest.

Past Statewide Winners


First Place – Mandy Ritter, West Perry High School. View Mandy’s video entry.  Read our Press Release.

Naomi Brown, Sullivan County High School, received second place honors while Jocelyn Stevenson, Neshaminy High School, placed third. (View Naomi’s entry.)


First place – Josie Deeter, Saegertown High School. Read Josie’s winning entry. and Saegertown High School’s article. Read our 2020 press release.

Erin Bossler, Mount Carmel Area High School, received second place honors while Xavier Koser, Newport High School, placed third.  (View Bossler’s entry and Koser’s entry.)


First place – Alayna McClain, Bermudian Springs High School.  Read Alayna’s winning entry and read our press release.

Keiko Grove, home-schooled, received second place honors while Paige Mitchell, Tri-Valley High School, placed third. (View Grove’s entry and Mitchell’s entry.)


Brooke Yurick, Bermudian Springs High School, York Springs. Read Yurick’s winning entry and read our press release. ​

Treston Johnson, a senior at Carlisle High School, received second place honors, while Julie Bauer, a Bellwood-Antis High School senior, placed third (view Bauer’s entry).


Biridiana Lua-Garcia, Bermudian Springs High School, York Springs.  Read Lua-Garcia’s winning entry and review our press release.

Additional awards were added in 2017.  Abby Riggio, Blackhawk High School, Beaver Falls, received second place honors (view Riggio’s entry), while Leah Jameson, West York Area High School, placed third (view Jameson’s entry).


Kyleigh Balint, Sullivan County High School, Laporte.  Read Kyleigh’s essay and review our press release.


Ryan Holzman, Boyertown Area High School.  Read more about Ryan’s statewide and local victories and review our 2015 press release.


Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association Foundation Logo