

# SLATE OF OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2025

#### **OFFICERS:**

<u>Seat #</u>	Term	Term		
	Expires			
1	2025	2	Jennifer Bertetto, Trib Total Media, Pittsburgh	Chairwoman
2	2025	2	Bob Geiger	Chairman Elect
3	2025	2	Sharon Sorg, CNHI	Vice Chairman
4	2025	2	Brad Bailey, <i>Press Enterprise</i> , Bloomsburg	Treasurer
5	2025	1	Lawrance Binda, <i>TheBurg</i> , Harrisburg	Secretary
6			William Cotter, Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association	President

#### DIRECTORS:

<u>Seat #</u>	Term <u>Expires</u>	Term		
7	2025	2	Ruth Eddy, The Sentinel, Lewistown	Daily
8	2025	2	Bernie Oravec, State College	Non-Daily
9	2025	1	Ashley Johnson, New Pittsburgh Courier	Non-Daily
10	2026	2	Paul Bennett, Spirit Media Group, Inc., Philadelphia	Non-Daily
11	2026	2	Christie Gardner, The Ridgway Record	Daily
12	2026	1	Chris Baxter, Spotlight PA, Harrisburg	Online
13	2026	1	Mike Miorelli, The Morning Call, Allentown	Daily
14	2026	1	Bill Southern, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette	Daily
15	2027	2	Justin Bucks, Lancaster Farming	Daily
16	2027	2	Carrie Pauling, NorthCentralPA.com, Williamsport	Online
17	2027	2	Denice Schaeffer, <i>Reading Eagle</i>	Daily
18	2027	1	Suzanne Parillo, The Philadelphia Inquirer	Daily
19	2027	1	Paul Ross, Media News Group	Daily
20	2027	1	Matt Martin, <i>Erie Times-News</i>	Daily
21	2027	1	Brian Nalepa, Sample News Group	Daily
22	2027	1	Kerry Miscavage, <i>Times Leader</i>	Daily

# NOMINATIONS REQUIRED:

(no less than 11; no more than 31)

# Officers:

Chairwoman:	. Jennifer Bertetto, Trib Total Media, Pittsburgh
Chairman-Elect:	. Bob Geiger
Vice Chairman:	. Sharon Sorg, <i>The Herald</i> , Sharon
Treasurer:	. Brad Bailey, Press Enterprise, Bloomsburg
Secretary:	. Lawrance Binda, <i>TheBurg</i> , Harrisburg

## Filling Unexpired Term

- (Term ending 2024)
- 1. \_\_\_\_\_
- 2. \_\_\_\_\_

## **First Term Nominees**

(first three-year term ends in 2027)

- 1. Suzanne Parillo, The Philadelphia Inquirer
- 2. Paul Ross, Media News Group
- 3. Matt Martin, Erie Times-News
- 4. Brian Nalepa, Sample News Group
- 5. Kerry Miscavage, Times Leader

#### Second Term Nominees

(second three-year term ends in 2027)

- 1. Justin Bucks, LNP Media Groups, Lancaster
- 2. Carrie Pauling, NorthCentralPA.com, Williamsport

3. Denice Schaeffer, Reading Eagle

## **OFFICER/TRUSTEE CHANGES**

(General Membership Meeting; Nov. 15, 2024)

NAME	EVENT
Jennifer Bertetto	Begins second one-year term as Chairwoman. Term expires 2025.
Bob Geiger	Begins second one-year term as Chairman-Elect. Term expires 2025.
Sharon Sorg	Begins second one-year term as Vice Chairman. Term expires 2025.
Brad Bailey	Begins second one-year term as Treasurer. Term expires 2025.
Lawrance Binda	Begins first one-year term as Secretary. Term expires 2025.
Justin Bucks	Begins second term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Carrie Pauling	Begins second term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Denice Schaeffer	Begins second term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Suzanne Parillo	Begins first term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Paul Ross	Begins first term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Matt Martin	Begins first term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Brian Nalepa	Begins first term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Kerry Miscavage	Begins first term as Director. Term expires 2027.
Harry Hartman	Resigned from board.

# **BYLAWS EXCERPTS**

#### 6.3 Number of Directors

The Association has a Board of Directors consisting of not less than fifteen (15) nor more than thirty-one (31) Directors, the exact number to be set from time to time by resolution of the Board of Directors. Each Director except the President and as set forth in this section must be an owner, employee or representative of a voting Member. The Nominating Committee will use its best efforts to nominate Directors from Members (a) located throughout the Commonwealth to ensure as much geographic diversity as possible and (b) such that daily and weekly newspaper Members are represented fairly. The President of the Association also serves as a Director. The immediate past Chairman serves as a voting member of the Board of Directors for the year following the completion of his or her term as Chairman. The Nominating Committee will use its best efforts to nominate a representative from among each of the Affiliate Members and the College Journalism Department Members to serve as voting Directors.

#### 6.4 Director Terms

Directors serve a three (3) year term and a Director, if reelected, may serve for two (2) consecutive terms. Former Directors are eligible for reelection after being off the Board for one (1) year. Each Director shall hold office until the expiration of the term for which he or she was elected and until a successor has been selected and qualified or until the earlier death, resignation or removal of such Director. Directors nominated to fill a mid-term vacancy are eligible for two (2) regular terms upon completing their interim appointment. The term limitations shall not apply to an Officer, as long as he or she continues to serve as an Officer.

#### 7.2 Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the following Officers: a Chairman, a Chairman-Elect; a Vice-Chairman; a Secretary/Treasurer; an Immediate Past Chair; and the President of the Association. Other offices may be instituted at the discretion of the Board or Voting Members. Each Officer is elected for a term of one year. Unless otherwise removed by the Directors or where a resignation occurs, at the end of each term, the Chairman becomes the Immediate Past Chair, the Chairman-Elect becomes the Chairman, the Vice Chair becomes the Chairman-Elect and the Secretary/Treasurer assumes the position of Vice Chair. The Nominating Committee is responsible for recommending a candidate of Secretary/Treasurer. Except for the election of the Secretary/Treasurer, no further action by the Directors or Voting Members is otherwise necessary to re-elect the Executive Committee. The Officers will take office at the conclusion of the annual membership meeting.