Award Details

The Keystone Media Awards – formerly called the Keystone Press Awards before merging with the PAPME Media Awards in 2020 – reinforce excellence by individuals in the news media profession, by recognizing journalism that consistently provides relevance, integrity, and initiative in serving readers and audiences, and faithfully fulfills its First Amendment rights/responsibilities. Further, the Keystone Media Awards stimulate journalists to improve their craft and ultimately improve their community.

Entries are currently being reviewed by the judges. Winners will be announced in mid-June.

The 2024 Keystone Media Awards will be presented during an awards luncheon on Thursday, October 17, 2024, at the Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey HotelCheck back in late summer for registration details. 

The PNA Foundation will supply plaques to each first-place winner and certificates to each second place and honorable mention winner in attendance at the Professional Keystone Media Awards Luncheon on Oct. 17.  Certificates for non-attendees will be available for pick up at the conclusion of the presentation. Certificates not distributed at the event will be mailed to the news organization after the event.

Present A Plaque is now offering direct ordering!  To get the same plaques we issue to our first-place winners in the Keystone Media Awards contest, order the pocket plaques in black marble with frosted, non-glare acrylic (item #FBPOCM81 – for a case of 10), or item #FBPOCM81S (for individual plaques).  You’ll see a significant savings if ordering by the case! Plaque orders will be sent directly to you from Present A Plaque via FedEx (ground or 2-day delivery options available).

Specialty categories:

  • Calkins Family Distinguished Video Award
  • Distinguished Writing Award
  • First Amendment Award (Broadcast)
  • Freelance Journalist of the Year
  • G. Richard Dew Award for Journalistic Service
  • John V. R. Bull First Amendment Award
  • Lenfest Institute Diversity Champion Award
  • Lenfest Institute Emerging Journalist Award
  • Paul Vathis Memorial Photography Portfolio Award
  • Public Notice Journalism Award
  • Public Service Award
  • Reader Initiative Award

IMPORTANT REMINDER: Participation in the Keystone Media Awards is essential to winning the coveted News Organization of the Year Awards. Beginning in 2023, your company MUST ENTER BOTH the Keystone Media Awards AND the PNA Foundation Advertising Contest in order to earn and accumulate points toward NOY designation which demonstrates your outstanding efforts across all facets of your news company. Companies not entering both contests will not be considered for NOY honors.

Questions? Email the PNA Foundation or phone 717-703-3003.