Award Details

Since 1990, the Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association (PNA) Foundation’s News Organization of the Year Contest, formerly known as the Newspaper of the Year Contest, has given Pennsylvania news media companies the opportunity to showcase the efforts of their entire staff. The contest has been changed and updated throughout the years, but the mission of recognizing outstanding work across all departments and including all products, with an emphasis on overall excellence has not.

Check back in August for the announcement of the 2024 News Organization of the Year winners!

Beginning in 2023, in order to accumulate points toward NOY, your company MUST ENTER BOTH the PNA Foundation Advertising Contest AND the Keystone Media Awards. You must enter both contests to earn points and to demonstrate your outstanding efforts across all facets of your news company. Companies not entering both contests will not be considered for NOY honors. Don’t be left out when the News Organization of the Year Awards are determined!

Congratulations to the 2023 News Organization of the Year winners! 

Read our 2023 NOY Press Release

Click on the company names to view their acceptance video. 

Multi-day Publications:

First Place – Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Second Place – The Times-Tribune, Scranton

Weekly Publications:

First Place – TheBurg, Harrisburg

Second Place – Chestnut Hill Local

Questions? Email the PNA Foundation or phone 717-703-3003.