Newspaper Carrier of the Year

Newspaper Carrier of the Year


Deadline to enter - June 30, 2023


Teresa Shaak




Newspaper Carrier of the Year award logo

Since 1959, the PNA Foundation’s Newspaper Carrier of the Year contest has helped Pennsylvania newspapers recognize the exemplary performance of carriers of all ages. It continues to be difficult to hire and retain reliable and talented carriers. Therefore, it is more important than ever to show exemplary carriers how much they are valued and appreciated for their contributions. Entering the contest is quick and easy, and cash prizes and certificates are awarded to the winners.

Entries are now being accepted in the 2023 Newspaper Carrier of the Year Contest! Cash prizes are sponsored by the generous support of The York Dispatch and RouteSmart Technologies, Inc.

Deadline to submit entries is June 30, 2023. Entries must be emailed to

There is a flat entry fee of $25 per news organization plus an additional $10 per entry fee. Payments must be completed via our online payment form.

Award certificates will be sent to the winning news organizations for local presentation. Entries of this contest will be automatically entered into I-SCMA’s Betty J. Way Carrier of the Year Contest.

Don’t forget to recognize your newspaper carriers on these special days each year:

A lot has changed since the first ever newspaper carrier was hired (by The New York Sun back in 1833), but the fact remains that they continue to be an integral part of your success.  Every day, and especially on these two special days, show appreciation to all your carriers.

Newspaper carriers – past and present – take these special days to celebrate by sharing stories from your delivery routes and/or what you enjoy about being a carrier. Use #NewspaperCarrierDay to post on social media.